The Ultimate Shopping List

The little saying “abs are made in the kitchen” is no joke! Clean eating has changed my life in so many ways. Just doing some cardio is not going to get you to lose those extra pounds! It is a combination of working out and a balanced diet that is essential to seeing results. Your eating is most of the battle!

So now take some time and rid your kitchen of the junk food. Yes, I’m serious, go do it! Don’t leave those fresh new cookies and say, “I’ll just save them and have only one.” No, you won’t just have one! So if you want to see change, toss them. I promise I eat many meals that satisfy all the cravings you could ever have.

Before you head to the grocery store know this:

  • Just because the food industry says it’s “healthy” does not mean it actually is. You must read the ingredients!!! Some of those “healthy” products are loaded with sugars and chemicals that will affect your body negatively.
  • Don’t go to the grocery store hungry! How many times have I done this and came home with an impulse item that I just ‘needed’ to have at the time. Do yourself a favor and have a little bite before you go; it’ll make it way easier not to steer away from your original shopping list.
  • PLAN! What are you going to make for the week? Write out specific meals rather than buying a random assortment of foods. Meal planning is essential.
  • Buy organic (when you can). I know it’s often the more expensive option. If you are on a budget, buy just the items that are essential to have organic.
  • Shop mostly the perimeter of the store. I know you may have heard this before but it’s true. Processed packaged foods live in the middle aisles. Think of whole foods, my friends! Rid the processed, packaged foods of your diet. You’ll feel great, I promise.

Now… Let’s go shopping! This is an overall list of items I constantly buy. Of course, there are things you may not like, so omit them. Make it work for you, but make sure you are buying items in these essential groups. I often go to different stores to get all my groceries. I frequent local supermarkets, Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, and Local Farms/Farmer’s Markets.

Vegetables

  • Broccoli
  • Zucchini
  • Asparagus
  • Onions
  • Brussels Sprouts
  • Peppers
  • Spaghetti Squash
  • Cauliflower
  • Tomatoes
  • Baby Bella Mushrooms
  • Organic Mixed Greens
  • Organic Spinach (We go through SO much spinach in my house, so I buy large sizes)

Fruits

  • Organic Strawberries
  • Organic Blueberries
  • Organic Raspberries
  • Organic Blackberries
  • Bananas
  • Pineapple
  • Watermelon
  • Cherries (I look forward ever year to when cherries come back into my life)
  • Organic Apples (I like Gala)
  • Lemon (I have lemon on my essential kitchen staples list as well. I use it all the time, for cooking or just in my water/tea. Lemon is extremely beneficial)

Healthy Fats

  • Nut Butters (okay guys, you have to read the label on these! They should ONLY contain almonds or peanuts. No hydrogenated oils or added sugars. Why do we need that in our nut butters? I’ll never understand!)
  • Avocados
  • Extra-Virgin Olive Oil
  • Coconut Oil
  • Raw Almonds
  • Raw Walnuts
  • Nuts/Seeds of choice (no salt)

Carbs

  • Organic Oats (Bob’s Red Mill makes a great gluten-free one)
  • Quinoa
  • Sweet Potatoes (vegetable but great source of carbohydrates)
  • Whole Wheat Bread/Wraps (I stay away from these but some good options are):
    • Ezekiel (NOT Gluten-Free)
    • Josephs flax tortilla wraps (NOT Gluten-Free)
    • Udi’s Gluten-Free Bread
    • Rice/quinoa Pasta

 Protein

  • Organic Eggs (farm fresh, if possible)
  • Organic boneless chicken breasts
  • 100% Grass-fed ground beef (I buy 90/10)
  • 100% Grass-fed steak
  • Extra-lean ground turkey meat
  • Wild Caught Salmon
  • Swordfish
  • Wild Caught Mahi-Mahi
  • Frozen Shrimp
  • Protein Powder (read the guest post about different protein powders)

Other

  • Frozen organic berries (for smoothies/shakes)
  • Unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • Salsa
  • Coffee (buy organic and/or local whenever possible)
  • Green tea

Condiments/Spices/Shelf Items/Other Essentials

2 thoughts on “The Ultimate Shopping List

  1. Bullet #2 is so true!! My mom and I stopped to pick up a red onion last night and we were so hungry we left the grocery store with gluten free frozen pizzas and French fries! :/

  2. Pingback: Kitchen Staples (The Essentials) | Lexi's Clean Kitchen

Leave a Reply

